TL;DR
Get workout gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Moderna and Merck reported that intismeran, a personalized mRNA vaccine, combined with Keytruda reduced the risk of recurrence or death by 42% compared with Keytruda and placebo in a Phase 3 trial of patients with surgically removed melanoma. At two years, 82% of patients in the vaccine group were alive without recurrence, compared with 70% in the comparison group. The companies have not provided further trial details in the supplied report, and the results do not establish a cure or show how long the benefit lasts.
Moderna and Merck said their personalized mRNA cancer vaccine, intismeran, reduced the risk of melanoma recurrence or death when given with Keytruda after surgery, compared with Keytruda and placebo. In the Phase 3 trial, 82% of patients in the vaccine group were alive without recurrence at two years, versus 70% in the comparison group; the companies reported a 42% reduction in the relative risk of recurrence or death.
The treatment pairs intismeran, also known as mRNA-4157, with pembrolizumab, sold as Keytruda. The trial enrolled people with resected melanoma, meaning their tumors had been surgically removed, and compared the combination with Keytruda plus placebo. The reported 42% figure describes a relative reduction in risk, not a 42-percentage-point difference in the share of patients whose cancer returned or who died.
At two years, recurrence-free survival was 82% with intismeran plus Keytruda and 70% with Keytruda plus placebo. The companies also reported a 38% reduction in the risk of distant metastasis or death. At the reported assessment, 88.5% of the vaccine group were alive without distant metastasis, compared with 80% of the placebo group. Recurrence-free survival measures time without the cancer returning; distant metastasis-free survival measures time without distant spread or death.
These results are from company-reported data described by Ars Technica. The supplied report does not include the full study publication or detailed figures such as the number of participants, confidence intervals, or adverse-event breakdown. The reported percentages describe outcomes at a particular follow-up point and do not show that every patient benefited.
A Potential Addition After Melanoma Surgery
The results matter because patients whose melanoma has been removed can still face a risk that it will return or spread. A treatment that lowers that risk could add an option in the post-surgery, or adjuvant, setting, where therapy aims to reduce the chance of relapse. In this trial, Keytruda was used in both groups, so the comparison tests whether adding the personalized vaccine improved outcomes beyond the existing drug regimen.
The absolute difference in the reported two-year recurrence-free survival figures was 12 percentage points—82% versus 70%. That measure helps put the relative 42% risk reduction in perspective, but it does not by itself establish how much benefit an individual patient will receive. The balance of benefit and side effects, the length of protection, and the treatment’s place alongside current care will matter to patients and clinicians.
The companies’ findings are encouraging, but they remain trial results rather than proof that the approach will work for every person with melanoma. The figures also should not be read as evidence that the vaccine treats all cancers: intismeran is tailored to mutations identified in an individual patient’s tumor.
melanoma skin cancer awareness book
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Personalized Vaccine Is Made
Intismeran is designed around mutations found in a patient’s cancer. Researchers compare genetic material from tumor cells with that from healthy cells, then select cancer-specific mutations that may help the immune system recognize the tumor. The synthetic mRNA can encode up to 34 selected mutations, according to the source report. This personalized design differs from a vaccine aimed at one shared target in all patients.
The Phase 3 results follow an earlier five-year Phase 2 trial cited in the report. That study showed a 49% reduction in the risk of recurrence or death and a 59% reduction in the risk of distant metastasis or death. The newer Phase 3 results reported smaller relative risk reductions at the stated assessment—42% and 38%, respectively. The studies had different follow-up periods, so the figures should not be treated as a direct like-for-like comparison.
Merck’s Dean Li, president of Merck Research Laboratories, described the Phase 3 findings as a major advance in the post-surgery treatment setting. That is the company’s characterization; independent assessment depends on the full trial data and review by regulators and medical experts.
“The trial “is the first Phase 3 study to demonstrate a clinically meaningful improvement in RFS and DMFS over standard-of-care KEYTRUDA in patients with resected melanoma.””
— Dean Li, president of Merck Research Laboratories
skin cancer self-examination guide
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Questions on Durability and Safety
The supplied report does not provide the full trial paper, the exact number of patients, statistical confidence intervals, or detailed information about side effects. Those details are needed to judge how precise the estimates are and to weigh potential benefit against treatment risks. It also does not specify how the results varied by patient characteristics or tumor features.
Longer-term outcomes remain unknown. The reported comparison is at two years, and the results do not establish whether the difference will persist, grow, or narrow with further follow-up. Nor do the figures show an overall-survival benefit on their own: the reported endpoints combine recurrence or metastasis with death, while the source gives no separate overall-survival result.
The report also does not state whether regulators have reviewed the Phase 3 data, whether an application has been filed, or when a full peer-reviewed publication may appear. Until those details are available, the announcement should be understood as company-reported trial results, not a change in approved treatment guidance.
UPF 50 sun protective clothing for adults
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Full Data and Regulatory Review
Further reporting should focus on release of the complete Phase 3 results, including the study design, patient numbers, statistical analyses, safety findings, and longer follow-up. Those data will allow clinicians and independent researchers to evaluate the size and reliability of the reported benefit and how it compares with the earlier Phase 2 findings.
Any regulatory submission or decision would be a separate development. The source material does not say whether one is planned or give a timeline, so the next confirmed milestone is not yet clear. For now, patients should discuss established melanoma treatment choices with their care teams rather than treating the announcement as a new standard of care.
broad spectrum SPF 50 sunscreen for sensitive skin
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What does the reported 42% reduction mean?
It is a relative reduction in the risk of recurrence or death for patients who received intismeran plus Keytruda compared with Keytruda and placebo. It does not mean that 42% more patients were cured. At two years, 82% of the vaccine group and 70% of the comparison group were alive without recurrence.
Who was studied in the trial?
The report describes patients with resected melanoma, meaning melanoma that had been surgically removed. It does not provide further eligibility details in the supplied material.
What is intismeran?
Intismeran, also called mRNA-4157, is a personalized mRNA vaccine designed using selected mutations in a patient’s tumor. It was tested in combination with pembrolizumab, or Keytruda.
Does this mean the vaccine is approved or available?
The report does not say that regulators have approved the treatment or that an application has been filed. The findings are company-reported Phase 3 results; approval and availability are not established by the information provided.
How long does the reported benefit last?
The supplied results describe outcomes at two years. Longer-term durability is not yet clear from this report, and further follow-up is needed to determine whether the difference persists.
Source: hn
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
